I hadn’t been doing very much math lately, and so I want to start doing more. There’s so much neat stuff out there, and I have books on a lot of it. Today I got a neat new analytic number theory book which is amazingly easy to understand, and my book on the ergodic theory of numbers is also very accessible and fascinating. It’s a shame there’s so much work to be done. I’ll be doing a reading class on the analytic number theory next quarter, and perhaps we’ll get through the book or halfway through it.

I feel really out of the loop with respect to math contests, which is a bad thing since the Putnam is on Saturday, and I’m expected to do well. I wonder if I’ll be able to solve anything that doesn’t have to do with irreducible polynomials, which were the topic of most of the Putnam seminars this quarter. It’s not much use looking back over the problems and deciding that they’re all easy, which is what happened last year.

Other fun things I have discovered recently are category theory and the StumbleUpon plugin for Firefox. I read an interesting Twain story today courtesy of StumbleUpon.

About Simon

Hi. I'm Simon Rubinstein-Salzedo. I'm a mathematics postdoc at Dartmouth College. I'm also a musician; I play piano and cello, and I also sometimes compose music and study musicology. I also like to play chess and write calligraphy. This blog is a catalogue of some of my thoughts. I write them down so that I understand them better. But sometimes other people find them interesting as well, so I happily share them with my small corner of the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to

  1. mathfanatic says:

    Thanks for recommending StumbleUpon. It’s interesting…my toolbar sends me to biological and philosophical sites, which is interesting, and ads, which are annoying. What do you get?

    • Simon says:

      I probably put in too many interests, so I get lots and lots of sorts of results. Sometimes I get math pages. Other times I get collections of books. Then I get all sorts of other things. I don’t get ads though.

Leave a Reply

