Consumerism


At 7AM this morning, my father and I decided to go to Fry’s primarily to find out how many people go to Fry’s when it first opens on Boxing Day. Despite the fact that the streets were desolate, the enormous parking lot outside Fry’s was already more than half-full when we arrived, at perhaps 7:08. I suppose I have grown used to my college, which is almost entirely lifeless at 7AM. But one might think that people would tend to sleep in on Boxing Day. Then again, perhaps all the people at Fry’s don’t celebrate Christmas. (Why shouldn’t I believe it? I certainly don’t celebrate Christmas.)

Fry’s really has the checkout process down. At Fry’s Sunnyvale this morning, there were 80 checkout stands. Therefore we were able to get back home before 8.

About Simon

Hi. I'm Simon Rubinstein-Salzedo. I'm a mathematics postdoc at Dartmouth College. I'm also a musician; I play piano and cello, and I also sometimes compose music and study musicology. I also like to play chess and write calligraphy. This blog is a catalogue of some of my thoughts. I write them down so that I understand them better. But sometimes other people find them interesting as well, so I happily share them with my small corner of the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Consumerism

  1. teratoma says:

    funny thing is the rest of them were all there just to find out how many people go to fry’s when it first opens on boxing day

  2. eternalfight says:

    I don’t know if you’re aware of this, but Fry’s has kind of a sketchy reputation. I’ve heard rumors about taking returned, defective products and putting them back on shelves. There’s something about this in the Google directory, I think.
    I’ve bought stuff from them that worked fine, though.

    • Simon says:

      Yes, Fry’s does do that, but they put stickers on the products so that you can see if it has been returned. I think most people return products because they are gifts they don’t want or because they think the product does not work when in fact it does. (A lack of batteries is a common cause of the latter.)

      • grumf says:

        i’ve bought some stuff from that fry’s store before that didnt work.
        they also employ the least knowledgable people.

        • deviantq says:

          They definitely get their labor cheap and unknowledgeable, as a general rule. But that’s OK, because we know what to buy anyway :-D.
          What’s really great is that they let you use in-store internet access to check their competitors’ prices on pricegrabber.com or something. And if you get the right manager, they’ll even match that price.

  3. aznphatso says:

    Hi Simon, I have noticed a few things we have in common. First, we both frequent the AoPS forums, and I may enroll in one of your complex number/trig classes if I find time in my schedule. Second, is that I live in Fremont, which isn’t that far from Sunnyvale. Third, we both play chess; my USCF is roughly 1600, and a brief search on msa.uschess.org shows that you also played on US Chess Live! My handle is Knightmair, what is yours?
    Anyways, I’m adding you as a friend, as I find you a very interesting fellow.

    • Simon says:

      Hi. I don’t play on US Chess Live now that they started charging for their quick rated events (although I might start again at some point in the future).

Leave a Reply

