Recommence Learning


I’m back at UCSB and am learning stuff once again. My first class of the quarter was Ryavec’s Fitzgerald class. He didn’t talk much about math, although when a student asked him to give six units for the class, he muttered “And you don’t even solve differential equations in this class!” We spent most of the class discussing when the class should be held, and in the end we agreed to stick to the original time (I think). That class may require more work than I had initiall expected, but there are 168 hours every week this quarter. (It may be more problematical next quarter with a 167-hour week.)

After that, I went to algebra and found that Ed had taken my preferred seat, so I was displaced by one chair. That class will cover rather basic ring theory for a few weeks, but then we will presumably cover some more difficult material. When I asked Yakimov to sign my forms for algebra and complex analysis after class, he congratulated me for being the only one to solve the last problem on the complex analysis final. That surprised me greatly since I had thought that I had done quite a poor job on it.

After that I returned for an hour and then went to complex analysis, which was not in South Hall 6635. Naturally, many students (of which I was not one) complained about this, so it is possible that we will move back there. Hopefully we’ll cover something interesting (i.e. something that the EPGY complex analysis class didn’t cover) soon.

After lunch, I decided to check out the quadratic forms class (which I shouldn’t take for credit, as I will not be able to come on Wednesdays). I had heard some not-so-good stories about Gerstein, but I find him a good teacher, and a very funny one. (“Sometimes we are not sure whether the W in WLOG stands for with or without, but in this case it stands for without” was my favorite thing he said. He said it somewhat better than that, but at the moment, my memory refuses to remind me of the exact wording.) I’ll continue showing up on Mondays and Fridays unless I get hopelessly confused.

After that I went to Putinar’s office to discuss our (read: Jeff’s) new proof of the min-max theorem for complex symmetric matrices. Perhaps the proof (or at least the result) is correct this time. After that, I went to Annalies’s talk on cover pebbling numbers.

Bernard and I solved all the proof games on the ChessBase website over the break, so I guess I should read or sleep after dinner.

About Simon

Hi. I'm Simon Rubinstein-Salzedo. I'm a mathematics postdoc at Dartmouth College. I'm also a musician; I play piano and cello, and I also sometimes compose music and study musicology. I also like to play chess and write calligraphy. This blog is a catalogue of some of my thoughts. I write them down so that I understand them better. But sometimes other people find them interesting as well, so I happily share them with my small corner of the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Recommence Learning

  1. confuted says:

    What would cause a 167-hour week?

  2. Anonymous says:

    What was the last problem?

    • Simon says:

      Assume that f(z) is a holomorphic function in the disk D(0,2R)={z in C : |z|=2R}, where R is a positive real number. Prove that if |f^(n)(0)|=n!*R^-n*max{|f(z)|:|z|=R}, where n is a positive integer, then f(z)=cz^n for some c in C.
      Who are you?

Leave a Reply

