Now quadratic forms no longer conflicts with any other classes, but the more I think about it, the more it seems like a good idea not to take it. For one thing, it would be nice if I could eat lunch on Mondays (i.e. not have classes that completely cover the lunch times). Not taking quadratic forms would also allow me to go to the functional analysis seminar. I suppose I also don’t have the prerequisite for quadratic forms (although I’m probably close enough). On the other hand, it is an interesting subject that I would like to learn. Hopefully I will have sufficient motivation to read the textbook.

I keep feeling that classes are easy for some reason. I need to stop taking prerequisites.

About Simon

Hi. I'm Simon Rubinstein-Salzedo. I'm a mathematics postdoc at Dartmouth College. I'm also a musician; I play piano and cello, and I also sometimes compose music and study musicology. I also like to play chess and write calligraphy. This blog is a catalogue of some of my thoughts. I write them down so that I understand them better. But sometimes other people find them interesting as well, so I happily share them with my small corner of the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to

  1. mathfanatic says:

    So…you want to take harder (rather than prerequisite) classes, but when you get the chance to, you don’t want to?

  2. aaronlehmann says:

    Yesterday I realized that eating breakfast is an alternative to eating lunch which I had not explored previously.

    • Simon says:

      That doesn’t work when one has been awake for seven or eight hours by lunch time.

      • confuted says:

        My schedule has no room for lunch on Mondays and Wednesdays, and either forces me to go without lunch on Fridays or eat before my 11:00 class. I plan to cope by taking some food with me that I can eat between classes.

        • gompers says:

          I highly recommend “Protein Plus” Powerbars. The protein fills you up while the carbs give you enough energy to get by. Last semester, I had no lunch break on Mondays and Wednesdays, and those bars kept me awake and satisfied through my afternoon classes.

          • confuted says:

            How do they taste? Are they tolerable?

            • gompers says:

              I used to work in a bike shop, so I ate that kind of food all the time because we got them for $0.50-$0.70 each. I’m not a picky eater, and needless to say I’m pretty used to such food. However, you might want to try the chocolate flavor first. I actually think it is quite better than “tolerable”.

Leave a Reply

