Miscellany


Apparently the person who wouldn’t accept my form for algebra at the registrar’s office last week didn’t know what she was doing. I tried again this morning, and I don’t think this person even noticed that the class was full. So now at least I’m enrolled in all my classes.

I had a horrible headache yesterday and was worried that I might be sick. Headaches are nothing new to me (I have been having them far too frequently for many years), but when I start coughing and seeing flashing lights, it is always a bit scary for me. Fortunately, I decided to give myself a little more sleep and woke up feeling far better. It’s amazing what a good sleep and a nice morning can do for a person.

As a result of my extra sleep, I didn’t finish Prague, the book we were supposed to finish by today for Hungarians! Fortunately, since no one else had finished it either, he decided only to talk about the first half and agreed to discuss the second half on Tuesday.

For the fugue class, we have to be able to recognize all the preludes and fugues from the Well-Tempered Clavier and the Mass in B Minor for the midterm (in under two weeks). I’m glad that I have to listen to these pieces a lot (and in particular the Mass in B Minor), but it is a shame that we will have to take a test on this material. I don’t know how else he can convince us to listen to them (although there must be some way with only three students in the class). I managed to set up my desktop again, so now I have two computers that work, and I even have, as a bonus, a computer that doesn’t shut down whenever I ask it to do something even mildly difficult or when I walk away from it for 20 minutes. Therefore I can now listen to this music on Naxos until my recordings come.

About Simon

Hi. I'm Simon Rubinstein-Salzedo. I'm a mathematics postdoc at Dartmouth College. I'm also a musician; I play piano and cello, and I also sometimes compose music and study musicology. I also like to play chess and write calligraphy. This blog is a catalogue of some of my thoughts. I write them down so that I understand them better. But sometimes other people find them interesting as well, so I happily share them with my small corner of the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Miscellany

  1. mathfanatic says:

    Glad the headache/scheduling problems disappeared.

Leave a Reply

