I was supposed to have a very difficult midterm that involved memorizing six hours of music on Wednesday, but fortunately when we arrived at the class that day, the professor decided to postpone the exam until Monday and cut off two hours of the music. It’s still going to be a really difficult exam, but at least now I know that I can almost guarantee a full score if I suddenly acquire perfect pitch by Monday. (That won’t happen, but fortunately I think I know the material well enough now to do reasonably well.)

One of the books we have to read for Hungarians! is Fateless, by Imre Kertész. Some years ago, I decided I didn’t want to read books about the Holocaust because it is too difficult and painful a subject, but now I have been assigned one for a class, so I have to read it. I read about 100 pages of it today and found it just as difficult as I had expected. I suppose it must be good literature, since the author won a Nobel prize (in 2002) as a result of writing it, but I can’t recommend it to most people for the aforementioned reasons. I hope I don’t start saying very strange and unpredictable things about the book in class on Tuesday.

About Simon

Hi. I'm Simon Rubinstein-Salzedo. I'm a mathematics postdoc at Dartmouth College. I'm also a musician; I play piano and cello, and I also sometimes compose music and study musicology. I also like to play chess and write calligraphy. This blog is a catalogue of some of my thoughts. I write them down so that I understand them better. But sometimes other people find them interesting as well, so I happily share them with my small corner of the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

