Some interesting things have happened in the past few days around here. First of all, my mother became a US citizen on Wednesday.

I went to aaronlehmann‘s house yesterday. I hadn’t seen him for a while, so it was nice to catch up with him. His family spent several years building a house, and they finally moved into it about a year ago. It’s a great place, but they don’t have enough stuff (in my opinion).

I finished reading the first chapter of Richard Stanley’s Enumerative Combinatorics a few minutes ago. It seems to me that if a high school student can get through the first chapter of this book (which is not the easiest thing in the world), then that person should have no trouble with combinatorics problems on high school contests. Of particular note is the twelvefold way (section 1.4). I had never seen combinatorics explained so completely before — nearly all the combinatorics problems on high school contests (at least up to AIME level) are trivial if you learn about half of the results in just this section.

I’m heading back to Santa Barbara tomorrow. I wonder how that will be.

About Simon

Hi. I'm Simon Rubinstein-Salzedo. I'm a mathematics postdoc at Dartmouth College. I'm also a musician; I play piano and cello, and I also sometimes compose music and study musicology. I also like to play chess and write calligraphy. This blog is a catalogue of some of my thoughts. I write them down so that I understand them better. But sometimes other people find them interesting as well, so I happily share them with my small corner of the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

