This quarter has been going pretty well. Algebra is amazing so far. I’m not sure why, but I’m having a great time with it. I feel more comfortable with the material than I ever have before with abstract algebra.

I’m coping a bit better with my excessive free time now. I got the first two volumes of the Princeton Lectures in Analysis series on apix‘s recommendation. It’s amazing how easy these books are to read given that they cover such advanced material. I usually go upstairs to the lounge several times a day to read a section. I tend to get very strange comments since I like to read aloud most of the time. I figure I don’t really understand the material unless I am able to make sense of everything without paper. (Of course, this doesn’t apply when I’m solving problems.)

There’s an AMS section conference at UCSB next weekend. I’m excited about that even though I probably won’t understand anything.

About Simon

Hi. I'm Simon Rubinstein-Salzedo. I'm a mathematics postdoc at Dartmouth College. I'm also a musician; I play piano and cello, and I also sometimes compose music and study musicology. I also like to play chess and write calligraphy. This blog is a catalogue of some of my thoughts. I write them down so that I understand them better. But sometimes other people find them interesting as well, so I happily share them with my small corner of the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to

  1. Your entries are always so refreshing! Glad to hear you’ve fond something to challenge you.

  2. mousie1389 says:

    Schumann Papillons? From Carnaval?

Leave a Reply

