I have managed to find a fair number of things to do this quarter, but I still find myself being bored way too much. Some of this comes from my inability to read math books for a long time, I think. After I read a section or two, I feel exhausted and have to take a break before coming back to it. That by itself wouldn’t be so bad, but the things I do “for fun” are structured in such a way that they take substantial chunks of time usually. For example, it doesn’t really seem worth it to try to convince my computer to work if I’m only going to use it for three minutes. And when I listen to music, I want to listen to a full recording or a couple sonatas or something at least. As a result, I spend way too much time idling and playing solitaire or doing something useless like that.

I’m trying to think of things to do for the summer. My chances of being able to teach a class on Fourier analysis seem to have risen substantially this week, as I managed to convince one more person (I think). (If anyone reading this is going to be in the Bay Area over the summer and is interested in the idea of learning Fourier analysis, please let me know!) If there is interest in classes for me to teach in other fields, especially analysis, I’d probably be interested in that as well. I just want to get a bit of experience teaching, as well as an opportunity to learn the stuff really well. (There’s no better way to learn something than to teach it, after all.) If anyone has any suggestions for what to do with the rest of the summer, I would be glad to hear them.

About Simon

Hi. I'm Simon Rubinstein-Salzedo. I'm a mathematics postdoc at Dartmouth College. I'm also a musician; I play piano and cello, and I also sometimes compose music and study musicology. I also like to play chess and write calligraphy. This blog is a catalogue of some of my thoughts. I write them down so that I understand them better. But sometimes other people find them interesting as well, so I happily share them with my small corner of the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to

  1. aaronlehmann says:

    I’m going to be learning about the Fourier series in the fall, but it’s a topic I’m interested in and it wouldn’t hurt to get ahead.

  2. teratoma says:

    What is Fourier analysis LoL
    LoL

  3. mad_emperor says:

    I’m thinking of double major in Math (CCS) and Philosophy (College of Letters and Science).
    What do you think?

    • Simon says:

      It’s difficult for me to tell you whether that would be a good idea for you or not given that I haven’t met you and I know very little about you. But if you think that you want to do math and philosophy, then give it a try! There’s a good chance that you’re right!

  4. hey
    hey. I live in the bay area. Sounds like an interesting class. Who would the class be open to? I’m a sophomore in highschool. I’ve only taken two years of calculus. Do you think i’d be able to follow the course?

    • Re: hey
      mind if i add you as a friend?

      • Simon says:

        Re: hey
        Yes, I think you would be able to follow it. I’d recommend that you look at a bit of real analysis in the meantime, at least so that you get the general idea of how results in analysis tend to be proven. If possible, you should probably at least skim Real Mathematical Analysis by Charles Pugh. Few of the results in that book will be used in the course, but perhaps you should know some of the named theorems that he makes a big deal about. But if you don’t, we can go over them as they are needed. Other than that, I think you’ll be fine. I’m glad you’re interested!
        I’ll add you back.

        • Re: hey
          ok. cool. where exactly in the bay area will you be teaching the class? If its somewhere close ill try to convince my parents to let me look into it.

          • Simon says:

            Re: hey
            Stanford is my first choice, so if I can get a room, it will be there. At any rate, it will be in the South Bay. Is that somewhere close?

Leave a Reply

