Teichmüller Representatives


The quarter is beginning to wind down a bit, which is probably a good thing because I feel somewhat out of control at the moment. I don’t consider my courseload to be excessively heavy this quarter, but I tend to find excuses to do anything that doesn’t involve classwork much of the time.

p-adic numbers are great fun! But for some reason, I can’t figure out why I think that when I stop reading about them. I think I felt basically the same way about them during Galperin’s MOP lectures, when I didn’t understand them nearly as well as I do now. (A bit of analysis and algebra goes a long way!)

A CCS music major asked me to play a piece he wrote for piano, cello, and clarinet. It will appear in a movie he’s making about a glass of water. Unsurprisingly, it’s a pretty strange piece.

I finally got around to starting my paper on theta functions yesterday. They seem pretty interesting, but the book I’m supposed to be using as a reference seems to focus on listing every identity, and so there is little cohesion. At least there’s a section on expressing numbers as sums of two and four squares, so I’ll write about that. It seems Stein and Shakarchi did a much better job of the exposition though (as usual).

About Simon

Hi. I'm Simon Rubinstein-Salzedo. I'm a mathematics postdoc at Dartmouth College. I'm also a musician; I play piano and cello, and I also sometimes compose music and study musicology. I also like to play chess and write calligraphy. This blog is a catalogue of some of my thoughts. I write them down so that I understand them better. But sometimes other people find them interesting as well, so I happily share them with my small corner of the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Teichmüller Representatives

  1. Anonymous says:

    stein an shakarchi? the complex analysis text?
    hmm..personally i think it’s hard to go wrong with the master: Complex Analysis in One Variable by Narasimhan
    *shrugs*

Leave a Reply

