The quarter is nearly over, but I’m hardly in a position to believe it at the moment. My algebra final still seems very daunting, although after looking over my notes on Galois theory yesterday, it seems slightly less so. If only classes were centered around solving problems rather than memorizing theorems my life would be quite a bit better.

Professors seem to have faith in me, at least for now. My algebra professor said she would be happy to have me in her homological algebra class next year and that the only preparation I would be wise to do would be to study the Artin-Wedderburn Theorem. I also got a vote of confidence for the algebraic number theory class next year. Ryavec thinks I should be able to understand all his notes on étale cohomology by the time I’m a senior, but he advised me not to try to read them yet. Sadly, he won’t be around then, as he is retiring after next year. I can’t imagine that whoever replaces him will do the job nearly as well as he does.

My complex analysis professor seems to think that singular homology is a topic that everyone should have seen as an undergraduate. I think they cover it in the second graduate topology class here (which I think I’ll only take when I’m a senior). Oh well. I can still understand most of the stuff he says about Picard groups and stuff like that without it.

I am looking forward to the end of the quarter very much. I really need a chance to rest that I’d never consider giving myself when I’m here. I have been having mild by persistent headaches nearly every day for a couple of weeks now. It seems that the main problem I have with taking on too much stuff is that I have no chance to recover if something goes wrong, so I just have to keep on suffering. But I don’t feel that I have much of a choice since being bored (which happens so easily to me) leads me to depression, and then I can’t do anything at all.

About Simon

Hi. I'm Simon Rubinstein-Salzedo. I'm a mathematics postdoc at Dartmouth College. I'm also a musician; I play piano and cello, and I also sometimes compose music and study musicology. I also like to play chess and write calligraphy. This blog is a catalogue of some of my thoughts. I write them down so that I understand them better. But sometimes other people find them interesting as well, so I happily share them with my small corner of the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to

  1. Anonymous says:

    umm…where does singular homology come into play in complex analysis?
    just curious

  2. Anonymous says:

    ah!
    i never thought of that

Leave a Reply

