Hamlet on the Moon


Yesterday I went to the final performance of Hamlet on the Moon, which is basically Hamlet but modernized (futurized?) and set on the moon. There is a complete script there in case you are interested in reading it. I had forgotten what a great play Hamlet is. I have always liked plays, whereas I am not so fond of, for example, poetry and novels. But I don’t know why I find Hamlet so great, but yet I do. I suppose it brings up things all of us can relate to, such as revenge. But it’s just a story.

Or is it? Hamlet’s story, I find, is not so different from that of Évariste Galois. Both were generally dismissed as being crazy, although neither one was. And of course their lives ended in similar ways. There are, of course, many other similarities between the two stories, but I wish neither to bore nor to take away from the imagination of my readers by filling in my impressions here.

About Simon

Hi. I'm Simon Rubinstein-Salzedo. I'm a mathematics postdoc at Dartmouth College. I'm also a musician; I play piano and cello, and I also sometimes compose music and study musicology. I also like to play chess and write calligraphy. This blog is a catalogue of some of my thoughts. I write them down so that I understand them better. But sometimes other people find them interesting as well, so I happily share them with my small corner of the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hamlet on the Moon

  1. andronikus says:

    HotM
    Damn, I missed that. I’d heard from some people that it wasn’t very good, but on the other hand it’s Hamlet, right? Hmm, oh well.

    • Simon says:

      Re: HotM
      I enjoyed it. If you were to go without expecting it to be a bit silly, you probably wouldn’t have enjoyed it. But if you were to expect silliness, you would have been suitably rewarded.

  2. eigenvalue says:

    Have you ever noticed the similarities between Galois and the french poet Rimbaud?

Leave a Reply

