Well, I’m home at last. Actually I got home on Thursday, but it’s not so fun to try to write a LiveJournal article if your computer overheats and shuts down every half hour.

I was expecting to have little to do over the summer, so on Wednesday I went to Ryavec’s office to ask him what to study. I was very surprised when he handed me twenty-four books to read. I’m starting with Homology by Saunders MacLane, mainly because it looks easier than Homological Algebra by Henri Cartan and Samuel Eilenberg. But I don’t want to do too much of it since it would be a great shame if my homological algebra class next year were just a review of what I had already studied. The same holds for algebraic number theory. But I am, as always, terribly impatient. Impatient, but, sadly, with a short attention span for doing difficult things. That’s why I need to stop and write LiveJournal entries. I wonder what sense can be made of self-referential LiveJournal entries.

It does feel strange to be 300 miles away from my college but yet still needing to submit an assignment by Monday. It’s done modulo some final proof-reading that I’m not especially looking forward to. I am at least temporarily very pleased to be back at home. I suppose boredom will kick in before too long though.

I think that will be it for now.

About Simon

Hi. I'm Simon Rubinstein-Salzedo. I'm a mathematics postdoc at Dartmouth College. I'm also a musician; I play piano and cello, and I also sometimes compose music and study musicology. I also like to play chess and write calligraphy. This blog is a catalogue of some of my thoughts. I write them down so that I understand them better. But sometimes other people find them interesting as well, so I happily share them with my small corner of the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to

  1. teratoma says:

    that is really hardcore
    i wish someone gave me a list of 24 books to read and i knew what order to read them in.

  2. grumf says:

    you’re going to cover 24 books over 3 months?

Leave a Reply

