The past week or so has been fairly busy for me, at least by summer standards. For one thing, I read two books that weren’t about math. Nonfiction, mind you, but still not about math. The first is about a journalist who was impersonated by a murderer. It’s more interesting than I probably just made it sound; I thoroughly enjoyed it, and it took me only two days to get through it (which is quite impressive given how slowly I tend to read). I’d say that was the better of the two. The second is about the adventures of a man who decided to read the entire Encyclopædia Britannica. Not surprisingly, that one had less of a plot. Maybe I should read the Britannica too; I’d learn a lot. Maybe I’ll do that when I retire. It’s funny that I’m already planning my retirement when it won’t happen for over 40 years. But that’s that.

On Sunday I went to The City (that’s Bay Area speak for San Francisco) to see Cosi fan tutte by Mozart. It’s a pretty stupid story, but of course we don’t go to Mozart operas for the storylines. There are few lines from it that would fit in rather well in the introduction of a very antiquated textbook on real analysis if taken hopelessly out of context. Unfortunately the libretto I found online doesn’t work quite as well for these purposes as the one I saw there, and I was foolish and didn’t memorize the right lines.

I also had a bit of time to study up on homological algebra and modules a bit here and there. If I’m feeling very inspired at some point, I’ll try to come up with an elementary introduction to homology theory. I’d like to do that to demonstrate to myself that I really understand it, but I have no idea how to do so.

I’m going to Vermont on Sunday. It has been a while since I was last there. About 14 years, in fact.

About Simon

Hi. I'm Simon Rubinstein-Salzedo. I'm a mathematics postdoc at Dartmouth College. I'm also a musician; I play piano and cello, and I also sometimes compose music and study musicology. I also like to play chess and write calligraphy. This blog is a catalogue of some of my thoughts. I write them down so that I understand them better. But sometimes other people find them interesting as well, so I happily share them with my small corner of the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to

  1. intrepia says:

    Hey, I just finished The Know-It-All also. 🙂

  2. magnusrex says:

    I read about both of those books in the newspaper and I heard the Britannica guy on NPR. Good choices.

  3. deviantq says:

    Nah, when you retire, you should read the entire Wikipedia. That’d be much more educational.
    Or I suppose by then it might be directly uploadable into your brain. *Shrug*.

Leave a Reply

