I guess I might as well post something since I haven’t done so for a long time. First of all, I spent nine days in Vermont. It’s a nice place, and I was somewhat surprised to find out that I could enjoy being out in the country with not much to do but read and go for walks. But the monotony of it eventually got to me, and I was happy it didn’t last any longer.

Shortly after I came back, my family and I embarked on a driving trip to Southen California. My father and I visited Caltech on Thursday afternoon, and I think it’s a nice place but probably not where I want to go for graduate school. The small faculty and my own indecision about my fields of interest do not seem to go well together: what happens if I find I’d really like to work in a field in which no faculty member knows a great deal?

On Friday I went to Alpine to visit my friends at AoPS. Unsurprisingly, there wasn’t much to do there, so I didn’t stay too long.

On Saturday I played a chess tournament in San Diego and did rather well, with a performance rating of 1973 and a rating gain of 40 points. I might analyze some of my games here later.

Yesterday we visited the wildlife park on the way out of San Diego. The people there seem rather self-congratulatory, but perhaps it is justified, as they seem to have done amazing things to counter the effects of natural habitat destruction.

So now I’m at a hotel in Oxnard and will be back in Sunnyvale tomorrow.

About Simon

Hi. I'm Simon Rubinstein-Salzedo. I'm a mathematics postdoc at Dartmouth College. I'm also a musician; I play piano and cello, and I also sometimes compose music and study musicology. I also like to play chess and write calligraphy. This blog is a catalogue of some of my thoughts. I write them down so that I understand them better. But sometimes other people find them interesting as well, so I happily share them with my small corner of the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to

  1. aibrainy says:

    Should’ve gone to Alpine earlier, while I was there. :-p

Leave a Reply

