End summer (in more than one sense of the word, even though I only accept one of them)


Finally classes started today. First I had probability theory. This class will be an interesting test of my work ethic given that I know nothing significant about probability theory (and am expected to). Thus my first task will be to acquaint myself with the basic notation of elementary probability theory.

Differential geometry was next. This class seems surprisingly basic for a graduate class that isn’t really intended for first-year graduate students (or maybe it is). It seems fun though, even if we will cover calculus on manifolds for the nth time. (Are there any math classes here that don’t cover differential forms? I haven’t found very many. At any rate, I’m not nearly as comfortable with them as I ought to be.)

Finally I had Lie algebras in the afternoon. I never expected Yakimov to deliver a lecture that was so fast-paced despite the fact that I have had four classes with him before. So I was much more confused than I had expected beforehand, and I don’t have the textbooks yet since he didn’t reserve them in the bookstore. I’ll do my best to struggle through this one in the meantime.

Having classes again is so nice. Life without a reasonably busy schedule for an extended amount of time is a good recipe for minor disaster for me, so I’m glad to be busy once again.

Game theory and noncommutative ring theory (if I decide to try this one out) will await me tomorrow.

About Simon

Hi. I'm Simon Rubinstein-Salzedo. I'm a mathematics postdoc at Dartmouth College. I'm also a musician; I play piano and cello, and I also sometimes compose music and study musicology. I also like to play chess and write calligraphy. This blog is a catalogue of some of my thoughts. I write them down so that I understand them better. But sometimes other people find them interesting as well, so I happily share them with my small corner of the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

