The weeks keep going by. This next one might go by rather slowly given that I’m going to have a lot of free time. At least a lot of free time by my standards. And definitely way too much by Dr. Lu’s standards. (If you don’t understand the reference, do not worry.)

I went to three seminars last week, which is probably more than I’ve been to the rest of the quarter combined. (Now that I think about it, I’m not sure that I went to any before.) The most recent one, yesterday afternoon, was a question and answer thing by four very well-known mathematicians (or so I’m told). They all recommended a course of study that is close to what I have been doing (talking to other mathematicians and going to talks and seminars when possible, even if I won’t understand very much), so apparently I’m on the right track. I can’t help thinking that I know less and less every day, but it’s only proportional to what I know exists.

Unfortunately, I seem to be increasingly isolated mathematically from my peers. I do my work almost exclusively on my own because I’m usually the only undergraduate in my classes. This probably limits my perspective  since I’m on my own. So I understand everything only in my own terms, which is fine, but it may prevent me from properly learning things I glossed over at some point. I guess that’s why these professors recommend talking to others. So I try to spend a fair amount of time in the math department mail room, although I do a lot more listening than talking.

Why did I do all my homework for next week already? That was really stupid. Having nothing I need to do kills my productivity. I might as well just sleep.

About Simon

Hi. I'm Simon Rubinstein-Salzedo. I'm a mathematics postdoc at Dartmouth College. I'm also a musician; I play piano and cello, and I also sometimes compose music and study musicology. I also like to play chess and write calligraphy. This blog is a catalogue of some of my thoughts. I write them down so that I understand them better. But sometimes other people find them interesting as well, so I happily share them with my small corner of the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to

  1. deviantq says:

    Seems like you need some independent project? I know I’d kill for free time; I could start working on the five projects I have piled up at the bottom of my (computerized) tasks list.

  2. gompers says:

    it’s rare that people are unenthused about having “too much” free time. as soon as any pops up, most people kill it. maybe you can do something unrelated to math? take a break! it might get your creativity juices flowing even more. just my two cents.

Leave a Reply

