The last few days have been generally good except for not being able to complete an involved computation about annihilators of modules over a noncommutative ring. But, as my advisor said, that’s life in mathematics, so I had better get used to it!

The math department has made the fantastic (at least for me) decision to allow undergraduates to request graduate classes starting next year. I requested functions of several complex variables, but I doubt I’ll get it. But various other classes I’d be interested in taking, such as advanced combinatorics, analytic number theory, operator theory, and algebraic geometry were requested as well and are reasonably likely to be offered.

The functional analysis seminar begins tomorrow. I think I’ve been doing a pretty good job of understanding the stuff we were assigned to read, at least as far as I have read. It’s rather unlikely that we’ll get to the Hahn-Banach Theorem on the first day when some people might not know what a Banach space is at all until they get there. It’s quite likely that I’ll end up presenting it next week though.

About Simon

Hi. I'm Simon Rubinstein-Salzedo. I'm a mathematics postdoc at Dartmouth College. I'm also a musician; I play piano and cello, and I also sometimes compose music and study musicology. I also like to play chess and write calligraphy. This blog is a catalogue of some of my thoughts. I write them down so that I understand them better. But sometimes other people find them interesting as well, so I happily share them with my small corner of the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to

  1. sthira_sukha says:

    Hi! I hope you don’t mind vacuous comments–I just wanted to say that I really enjoy reading your journal 🙂

  2. Erm… I was looking through all of livejournal and came across your journal. Stoke of luck? I certainly hope so! I was looking through your profile, and I saw that you were part of chess community… Yeah, you know where this is going. So, can you help me? This guy keeps kicking my ass at chess.

    • Simon says:

      With what would you like help? I don’t really know how one gets better at chess. Generally I remain at about the same level for a while regardless of what I do (even if I study a lot or completely ignore chess), and then I randomly get much better very suddenly. It’s not something I understand at all.

      • You don’t understand it at all? Well, welcome to my level. I can bnarely understand what you were talking about so I was trying to look it up on google… (Ok, back to chess) But what I don’t understand is the strategy put onto the board. People can imagine the board in their head. They can actually make people move certain ways. I, though, move in the ways someone directs me to. What I don’t understand is what I’m hoping you would. How do you strategize during a game without being killed in just a few moves?

  3. Small Question
    Ermm… Just a small question about your web page… Do you have a page like “Math for Idiots Like dylanosirisgirl Who Is Excelling In Her Emo/Retarded Classes, But Doesn’t Understand Wtf You Are Talking About”? Yeah, please send me the link if you have one…

Leave a Reply

