Classes for the quarter are finally over, and the only things that remain in the quarter are the Putnam (tomorrow) and some finals which seem like mere formalities. Strangely, the class on noncommutative ring theory, which I thought wouldn’t be all that interesting, turned out to be the most interesting of all my courses. It also provided me with the most interesting and possibly the most difficult problems I worked on this quarter.

On Tuesday I attempted to book a flight home. Since I want to take my cello with me, I booked two tickets. An hour later, the travel agency emailed me and told me that the cello couldn’t fly and that my flight had been canceled. I didn’t believe that, so yesterday I took my cello to the airport, and one of the people who worked there tried to put it on the plane and said that it in fact would not fit. So I have to go back to the drawing board on how to get home. Amusingly, I would probably have to pay $20 extra each way to take the cello on a Greyhound bus in the baggage compartment. Alternatively, I could pay about $10 to get a child’s ticket (and hence a seat) for it. Given that my cello was made in 2002, this seems most appropriate.

My black pen has been leaking a lot. The converter is broken, but Congdon and Crome didn’t have any when I went there last Friday. I’ll get a new one when I get back, but for now it’s not that fun to write with it. At least, it’s not that fun to end up with ink all over my hands, but it still writes very nicely.

The TA for game theory very cleverly “forgot” to bring the teaching evaluations to the discussion today. I guess I can forget about all those painful discussions now that I won’t have to put up with any more of them. I should make a new rule never to take a class with a discussion section again.

About Simon

Hi. I'm Simon Rubinstein-Salzedo. I'm a mathematics postdoc at Dartmouth College. I'm also a musician; I play piano and cello, and I also sometimes compose music and study musicology. I also like to play chess and write calligraphy. This blog is a catalogue of some of my thoughts. I write them down so that I understand them better. But sometimes other people find them interesting as well, so I happily share them with my small corner of the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to

  1. Congrats, and good luck on the Putnam

  2. grumf says:

    haha good luck with the cello 🙂

  3. Anonymous says:

    HELP, ALGEBRA 2
    Hey I’ve got a HUGE problem with an Algebra 2 problem. Here it is, I have to find a standard form quadratic equation that contains the points (6,-9), (-3,180 and (12,-57). Standard form meaing y=ax+bx+c. If you could help I’d be really thankful. Thanks again.

    • Simon says:

      Re: HELP, ALGEBRA 2
      1) Lagrange interpolation.
      2) Do you think my journal is simply a basic math help (or, even worse, basic math homework help) forum?
      3) I don’t even know who you are. If you want me to take you seriously, get an account (you only have to pass a Turing test to do that, so it shouldn’t be very hard). Or at least tell me who you are.

Leave a Reply

