The Flight of the Bumblebee


Actually in this case it’s the honeybee, but that’s beside the point. Not infrequently, people make comments about scientists having shown that bees cannot fly. But in fact bees do fly; I have seen them do so personally. But now, all shall be forgiven as some scientists have shown that bees can in fact fly.

About Simon

Hi. I'm Simon Rubinstein-Salzedo. I'm a mathematics postdoc at Dartmouth College. I'm also a musician; I play piano and cello, and I also sometimes compose music and study musicology. I also like to play chess and write calligraphy. This blog is a catalogue of some of my thoughts. I write them down so that I understand them better. But sometimes other people find them interesting as well, so I happily share them with my small corner of the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Flight of the Bumblebee

  1. Anonymous says:

    Now that is fascinating
    I didn’t expect it to be so interesting, to be honest – I never even gave bee flight a thought. Nice post 🙂 I’ve seen mathematics like that too, where someone says something like: “It’s impossible to make ‘put-common-everyday-shape-here'” because my theorem proves it so …Q.E.D!. But rather obviously the theorem was flawed, since an object of that shape indeed exists! (What a surprise…).
    Anyway, an example of such a thing would be in Aristotle’s time(? not sure) in connection with Zeno’s paradox, proved that nothing can move, hence an arrow can’t fly. The reason was something along the lines of: Because it can’t be in two places at once, for it to move, it needs to be in time t0 and t1 (the spaces of time) at the same time, which is impossible, objects can’t be in two places at once, hence it can’t move. Yeah, real hot theorem, would you bet on it? Can I shoot this at your head? I mean it won’t hit you anyway right? 😛

Leave a Reply

