Finals week is supposed to be stressful, so why isn’t it?


The quarter is drawing nearer to its conclusion. I have one last final at 10, and it would probably be a good idea to hand in my differential geometry final at some point today, but that has already been completed and printed. Then I suppose that tomorrow I can go home. Finals week is very boring for me — there is nothing to do except for complaining about how little there is to do, complaining about complaining about how little there is to do, complaining about complaining about complaining about how little there is to do, etc. I even had to go so far as to talk to people to relieve my boredom.

Actually yesterday I decided I had had enough and decided to buy some fiction from the bookstore. I started reading a very dark and heavy short story by Dostoyevsky — that probably isn’t the best way of cheering myself up. I guess I’ll finish it and then try out the other book, which is hopefully not as heavy.

I suppose most other people would love to have a stressfree finals week, but I would choose heavy stress over boredom any day. And if I didn’t have a final today, I would have been at home already. It’s always less boring at home than in Santa Barbara. Santa Barbara has to be the most boring city of 900 000 in the world.

About Simon

Hi. I'm Simon Rubinstein-Salzedo. I'm a mathematics postdoc at Dartmouth College. I'm also a musician; I play piano and cello, and I also sometimes compose music and study musicology. I also like to play chess and write calligraphy. This blog is a catalogue of some of my thoughts. I write them down so that I understand them better. But sometimes other people find them interesting as well, so I happily share them with my small corner of the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Finals week is supposed to be stressful, so why isn’t it?

  1. deviantq says:

    Dostoevsky is awesome. Are you reading Notes from Underground?
    Are your teachers used to LaTeXed finals? (From people beside you?)
    I think there’s a difference between being busy and being stressed. Perhaps you should find a fun independent project (probably in math). Like learning something you wouldn’t in normal classes. Or learning some physics. Go buy/check out from the library some Penrose books.
    Why is home less boring, if you don’t talk to people? What’s there to do that you can’t do in Santa Barbara? Just curious.

    • Simon says:

      Yes; good guess!
      Some people TeX assignments, but not that many. They don’t mind though (why would they?).
      Theoretically, yes, I agree. However, lack of structured activity makes my ability to focus and my motivation level plummet. I tried reading a bunch of books I have but haven’t read too much of, but I kept finding that I basically knew the stuff and that it wasn’t that entertaining. At least not for long periods of time. But I will get the Penrose book next time I make an order from Amazon (assuming I don’t forget).
      I don’t know why Sunnyvale feels less boring than Santa Barbara really. At the beginning I have a lot to catch up on. But I can usually find something to do at home. At Santa Barbara my whole life is classes or preparing for classes.

  2. aknoln says:

    Are you trolling?

Leave a Reply

