One of my favorite articles in Notices of the AMS is the “What is…” column. Curiously, January’s topic is quantum groups. This is interesting to me because I have a class on quantum groups in the winter and am somewhat nervous about having to do serious work with tensor products. Supposedly I’m not supposed to be scared of tensor products, but I’m not sure if I believe that. So it seems that I get a bit of a head start now. It’s probably just as well since I generally have to do my work all by myself and there are too many words beginning with “co:” coalgebra, counit, coproduct. I think I’m pretty comfortable with cohomology, cocyle, cochain, and coboundary now from differential geometry, but the other ones are categorical and probably hard to understand at some appropriate level, at least for me. Anyway, I think I have the definition of a Hopf algebra down now. That’s a start.

About Simon

Hi. I'm Simon Rubinstein-Salzedo. I'm a mathematics postdoc at Dartmouth College. I'm also a musician; I play piano and cello, and I also sometimes compose music and study musicology. I also like to play chess and write calligraphy. This blog is a catalogue of some of my thoughts. I write them down so that I understand them better. But sometimes other people find them interesting as well, so I happily share them with my small corner of the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to

  1. eigenvalue says:

    I like that column as well, although I usually can’t understand 75% of it. But I like it when I can understand it.

  2. Anonymous says:

    WHOA its simon.

Leave a Reply

