This morning I was in the math mail room thinking about Banach space tensor products and musicology and homological algebra before any of my classes when I noticed a flier announcing a summer program in Germany on arithmetic geometry. It sounds fascinating, and I’d love to go. However, I’m probably hopelessly underprepared. To get a sense of things, I tried looking at the only book on my shelf on arithmetic geometry. The first page was fine; it just talked about what was to appear later in the book. I was then able to understand most of the first paragraph on the second page. By the second paragraph on the second page, it was hopeless. So I need to find another book on arithmetic geometry. Any suggestions?

Ryavec told me I shouldn’t go because I wouldn’t have enough time before July to prepare myself (and especially before February 28th to convince the Clay people that I would know something by July) and because these Clay summer programs are generally too intimidating. But he said that it would be good to learn a lot about arithmetic geometry anyway.

I’ve been feeling pretty bad all day, probably due to the amount of work I have over the next few days. But actually it isn’t that much. I really just have to figure out what to do with Hopf duals and then come up with a decent abstract for music (and then do a lot of reading). It shouldn’t be anything unreasonable, but I always go into panic mode when I have an assignment still to do for Goodearl, even if I am finished with 7/8 of it.

About Simon

Hi. I'm Simon Rubinstein-Salzedo. I'm a mathematics postdoc at Dartmouth College. I'm also a musician; I play piano and cello, and I also sometimes compose music and study musicology. I also like to play chess and write calligraphy. This blog is a catalogue of some of my thoughts. I write them down so that I understand them better. But sometimes other people find them interesting as well, so I happily share them with my small corner of the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

