The quarter is close to over now, with only one more day of classes to go followed by finals. I thought I had a lot of work to do this week and wasn’t sure how I was going to get it done. But I didn’t know that there were going to be three math professor candidates showing up this week to give talks and to have interviews with students. I panicked when I found that out because it meant that it would be even harder to get my work done. But somehow it appears that everything will be done when it needs to be done. I don’t really know how to interview people though. I basically want these people to say that they won’t change much but that they won’t allow more people to become like aknoln. However, I fear that there will be too much pressure from the math department to make changes that will be very detrimental to the autonomy of CCS math.

About Simon

Hi. I'm Simon Rubinstein-Salzedo. I'm a mathematics postdoc at Dartmouth College. I'm also a musician; I play piano and cello, and I also sometimes compose music and study musicology. I also like to play chess and write calligraphy. This blog is a catalogue of some of my thoughts. I write them down so that I understand them better. But sometimes other people find them interesting as well, so I happily share them with my small corner of the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to

  1. aknoln says:

    Pretty sure I didn’t put this up to a vote with math faculty. Also this has personal precedent, so whatever.

    • Simon says:

      You are squandering the best years of your life! Do you care to deny that?

      • aknoln says:

        I reject that as either ill-formed or hypocritical. What makes them the best years of life? A canonical response might be that I’ve got four years to party hard in beautiful Santa Barbara, but this explanation suggests that you too are squandering the opportunity. I do not claim that my actions are optimal or that I even know what that would entail, but rather that I can rebut any such hasty criticisms.

  2. okb says:

    Did you see that Brevik dude today? I talked to him in CCS for a bit.

    • Simon says:

      Yeah. He seems like a good guy for the most part, although he appears skeptical about this taking lots of graduate courses thing.

Leave a Reply

