I’m home now, as I have been since the 21st. I somehow managed to survive the avalanche of work that was the end of the quarter. We selected our choice of candidate for CCS math and wrote a letter to influential people in the math department. Although our letter was well-received, it appears that they ignored our advice, although I only have some nth-hand information on that, where n is a sufficiently large positive integer that I need not trust it fully. I’ll bug Bill Jacob or Bruce Tiffney next week and find out what really happened.

I decided to apply to the Göttingen arithmetic geometry program after all. (Not being technically qualified or meeting prerequisites for programs I attend has never stopped anything in the past, and I have no desire whatsoever to change that.) But since they still haven’t sent me anything, I decided to apply for another program, this time in Brazil. I actually satisfy the expected audience for this one, so I think I have a better shot at getting in. For the record, I don’t have any particular need to get out the country. I just didn’t find any completely satisfactory programs in the country. They all either start too early or don’t look particularly interesting. Then again, I am interested in seeing other places, especially Europe. But I wouldn’t go to a program without a much better reason than just that.

On the offchance that I actually get accepted to the artihmetic geometry program, I would like to be as prepared as is possible given the lack of time between now and July, so I have been trying to work through a book on arithmetic geometry. A (not particularly unexpected) side effect of having taken a class in algebraic number theory but not in (commutative) algebraic geometry is that I already know the majority of the number theory he is talking about but am confused when he starts talking about varieties. I haven’t looked at that many books on algebraic geometry, but each book seems to take a completely different perspective, so it’s difficult to read multiple books simultaneously (which is what I generally like to do). Maybe I’ll bug Bill Jacob about that too since he’s an algebraic geometer. Has anyone read Eisenbud’s Commutative Algebra Book? Is it good?

I suppose I’ll have a shockingly light quarter in the spring. Hopefully I won’t die of boredom, but I’m supposed to do some research in complex analysis or operator theory, and I should hope that will require large chunks of time.

About Simon

Hi. I'm Simon Rubinstein-Salzedo. I'm a mathematics postdoc at Dartmouth College. I'm also a musician; I play piano and cello, and I also sometimes compose music and study musicology. I also like to play chess and write calligraphy. This blog is a catalogue of some of my thoughts. I write them down so that I understand them better. But sometimes other people find them interesting as well, so I happily share them with my small corner of the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to


  1. You’re doing research? You didn’t tell me that. That’s pretty wild man.

  2. Hey – wow! It’s Simon!!! 🙂 The one who gave me Fedya’s screenname!! AND the one whom Xuan seemed so fond of! AND the one who forced me to sign up for AoPS (eeeevil! :P)! AND the one who takes grad-level courses at UCSB and doesn’t fail them the way Alex Rozinov does. 😉 Tell him I said hi, BTW; he’s a very cool fellow.
    Oh, and I’ve been wanting to go to Santa Barbara for the past, like, year and a half. Too bad I still haven’t done that. Maybe I’ll make a better effort soon? 🙂
    Best wishes!
    ~Anastassia

    • Simon says:

      Hi. Why do you want to go to Santa Barbara? It’s a dreadful place. (Well, I’m the only one who thinks so, but that doesn’t change anything.)

      • Oh, dreadful – really? But Alex Rozinov said it had great weather&beaches and wonderful food! (haha, *hugs Alex for his gourmand ways*)

        • Simon says:

          The weather is fine — but then again, so is the weather in the Bay Area. (It’s pretty similar.) Beaches exist, but I don’t like them. As for wonderful food, where did he get that idea!? Go to San Francisco if you want good food!

Leave a Reply

