The first two weeks of the quarter are over. They mostly went pretty badly, so I’m hoping that things will start becoming better now.

The first annoying thing that happened was that on the first day of the quarter, April 3rd, it was pouring, and I had to go across campus several times to go to classes and to pick up forms, so I arrived at most of my classes completely soaked and in no mood to think. Fortunately it hasn’t been raining quite as much lately.

Then I got a rejection email from Clay Mathematics Institute. I wasn’t particularly surprised by that, but it’s still annoying. But I’ll have something to do over the summer: Putinar said if I don’t get into the Brazil program (I have no idea how competitive it is), then he can give me some project to work on, and I can even get some funding for it. And I won’t even have to stay in Santa Barbara.

Agboola didn’t show up to the first day of algebraic number theory because of some confusion about which classroom it was going to be. But we’ve still had three classes so far, and it’s a lot of fun. I feel I understand the stuff pretty well, which I should given that I have seen p-adic analysis in the past, which is what we’re doing right now.

Recently I have also been sick. I was feeling horrible on Wednesday night and left the Seder at about 9:20 after a coughing fit. A rather absurd sequence of events followed. (I won’t write about them here.) On Friday I had an appointment with a doctor and student health and was prescribed some medication, which seems to be helping slightly.

I am extremely unimpressed by the orchestra music this quarter. We’re playing Schubert’s Unfinished Symphony, which of course is great, but I’d rather play something I haven’t played before. Then we’re playing the overture to Der Freischutz by Carl Maria von Weber, which is fine. Then we’re playing a bunch of modern pieces which I have yet to hear. (We haven’t rehearsed them yet.) I hope they don’t sound dreadful.

About Simon

Hi. I'm Simon Rubinstein-Salzedo. I'm a mathematics postdoc at Dartmouth College. I'm also a musician; I play piano and cello, and I also sometimes compose music and study musicology. I also like to play chess and write calligraphy. This blog is a catalogue of some of my thoughts. I write them down so that I understand them better. But sometimes other people find them interesting as well, so I happily share them with my small corner of the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

