Things are going better now. I have almost recovered from whatever it was I had earlier in the quarter. I also discovered that I understand differential geometry pretty well for the first time since the fall. But this morning I realized that I don’t really know anything (this happens to me about once a month), so I decided to do a crash course in representation theory. I hope to get through these notes in a week. I suppose being able to undertake such a project is a luxury that comes with taking such a light course load as I am this quarter. Well, I probably ought to learn something about functions of several complex variables given that I know almost nothing about them and am supposed to write a paper on them this quarter. (Jeff and I have proven one theorem so far, and I think we can generalize it a bit without introducing new techniques.)

About Simon

Hi. I'm Simon Rubinstein-Salzedo. I'm a mathematics postdoc at Dartmouth College. I'm also a musician; I play piano and cello, and I also sometimes compose music and study musicology. I also like to play chess and write calligraphy. This blog is a catalogue of some of my thoughts. I write them down so that I understand them better. But sometimes other people find them interesting as well, so I happily share them with my small corner of the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to

  1. kinejoshua says:

    Ha ha, if you have any questions about quiver representation theory (in particular, the various properties of reflection functors), you should feel entirely free to STAY THE HELL AWAY FROM ME.
    The last time I had to talk about those I ended up sobbing. No joke. 😦
    P.S. Reflection functors aren’t actually that bad. I just happen to have an unfortunate personal history with them.

  2. michiexile says:

    Most of my (new) department are doing representation theory – me and my advisor (doing group cohomology) seem to fit in on virtue of “well, it’s almost representation theory”

Leave a Reply

