Bureaucracy


Have I mentioned lately how much I hate bureaucracy? I don’t think I have, so I shall now.

Since I’m applying to graduate schools, I need to submit transcripts. Unfortunately, I haven’t paid a bill that isn’t due until the middle of December, so the university won’t let me order transcripts. Fortunately I’m sufficiently early as to be able to solve the problem without getting my transcripts in late.

About Simon

Hi. I'm Simon Rubinstein-Salzedo. I'm a mathematics postdoc at Dartmouth College. I'm also a musician; I play piano and cello, and I also sometimes compose music and study musicology. I also like to play chess and write calligraphy. This blog is a catalogue of some of my thoughts. I write them down so that I understand them better. But sometimes other people find them interesting as well, so I happily share them with my small corner of the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bureaucracy

  1. pvnotp says:

    Hello,
    As this is oh so random, I don’t know if you will be inclined to reply, but I am also a math student applying to graduate school (I saw you on the applyingtograd community) and I wanted to ask you how math classes work at your institution. I go to a small liberal arts college, and we are strongly discouraged from taking more than four classes a semester, but you seem to be taking far more than that a quarter! I am just curious as to how my experience compares to others in the applicant pool.
    In any case, good luck with all your application hassles.

    • Simon says:

      I’m in a small college (called College of Creative Studies) within a larger university (UC Santa Barbara). The idea of the program is, roughly speaking, to allow undergraduates to pretend to be graduate students. For example, we have far more flexibility about which classes we can take (and, in particular, are encouraged to take graduate courses and courses that might be too difficult for us), and we are also encouraged to do research as soon as possible.
      We can also take more classes if we wish. The unit limit for people in the rest of the university is 21 (which is roughly 5 classes), but for us it’s essentially unlimited (95.5, but no one has ever come close to that). So I typically take about seven classes at once to keep from being too bored.

Leave a Reply

