Accidentally in Vancouver


My direct flight to San Francisco was canceled, so now I’m in Vancouver for a rather lengthy layover. They told me that the flight yesterday from San Francisco to Edmonton didn’t come, so they had to cancel the one today. Apparently they didn’t think that it would be courteous to inform the passengers. (It wouldn’t necessarily have helped me since I didn’t check my email after about 3:45PM yesterday, but that’s not the point.) Then I got on the flight to Vancouver, and we sat there for an hour when some 10-minute maintenance turned into a lot more. Anyway, I was pretty worried about figuring out how to contact my parents and get through customs in Vancouver before they left to pick me up, especially after the payphone failed to scan my credit card and I received something like seven answering machines or busy signals on collect, but eventually everything was successful. Then I found out that Vancouver airport has (a) orange juice and chocolate, my comfort foods, and (b) free wireless. So now I’m much more relaxed.

I was pretty exhausted by the end of the workshop. I can handle a lot of talks if they aren’t too hard, but it’s incredibly draining to try to grasp something in one talk after another, day after day, when I lack sufficient preparation. There were a bunch of talks that I understood well, and a number of others that I was able to understand partially, but then there were plenty that lost me nearly immediately. I guess it makes sense that I shouldn’t understand everything when most of the participants were more experienced. Anyway, I definitely got a lot out of the summer school, and I’m really glad I went.

About Simon

Hi. I'm Simon Rubinstein-Salzedo. I'm a mathematics postdoc at Dartmouth College. I'm also a musician; I play piano and cello, and I also sometimes compose music and study musicology. I also like to play chess and write calligraphy. This blog is a catalogue of some of my thoughts. I write them down so that I understand them better. But sometimes other people find them interesting as well, so I happily share them with my small corner of the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

