Stanford


So I’m at Stanford now. The first few days here were very boring since I didn’t know anyone, and I didn’t have much to do except unpack and complain about how small the kitchen is, and also about the unpleasantness of cooking for one person. Anyway, I’m hoping to do something about the latter; it would be nice to get a small group of people together to eat meals every so often, if nothing else than to encourage us to cook more interesting meals. (If you are at Stanford and are interested in joining me, please do tell! This is especially true if you like vegan Indian food!)

Since Wednesday, things have been better. We had an orientation for new math graduate students, so I was able to meet some of my classmates. The ones I have met so far are very nice people, some of whom have a surprising amount in common with me (which, I suppose, ought not to be too surprising given that I’m talking about a bunch of math graduate students). Yesterday was the algebra qual, which did not go well as far as getting correct solutions to questions, but it was fun anyway. It’s been too long since I have done problems remotely similar to these, and it clearly shows. Evidently, then, taking the algebra course will be helpful for me. I’m really looking forward to my classes, which start on Monday.

This post seems more content-free than I had planned on before I started writing it.

About Simon

Hi. I'm Simon Rubinstein-Salzedo. I'm a mathematics postdoc at Dartmouth College. I'm also a musician; I play piano and cello, and I also sometimes compose music and study musicology. I also like to play chess and write calligraphy. This blog is a catalogue of some of my thoughts. I write them down so that I understand them better. But sometimes other people find them interesting as well, so I happily share them with my small corner of the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Stanford

  1. qcvar says:

    I’m on campus too; let me know if you ever want to meet up for food or something. I know that I have a few guest meals with my meal plan. As for cooking… well, let’s just say that you’d likely end up with biohazardous vegan Indian food when I finish…

  2. andronikus says:

    It’s funny that you mentioned about getting people together to cook for each other, because just this very afternoon a similar thing was established with a bunch of my people. We’re also going to do homework at the same time. I’m hosting first, technically, and I’m really excited.

  3. michiexile says:

    This sounds like I should poke you during my US tour this spring, then.

Leave a Reply

