Another exploratory mission


Around 4:00 PM I went to try to seek the enroll codes and instructor numbers for 201A, 220A, and 227A. First I went to the UCen to see if they had a course catalog in the bookstore. They probably do, but I couldn’t find it. I spent a while going through the books for my classes. There were a bunch of grad students who will be in some of my math classes, and they were wearing AMS t-shirts. They must be math people, right? Anyway, I was looking through Lang’s Algebra, which is one of the textbooks for 220A. One of the grad students started talking to me.

He: Are you a grad student?
I: No.
He: Undergrad?
I: Yes.
He: Which year?
I: Freshman.
He: And you’re looking at that book? You’re not in CCS, are you?
I: I am.
He: In that case, you should look at that book.

That was quite amusing. I looked at all four textbooks for 201A and 220A (apparently there is no textbook for 227A). The other book for 220A seems pretty straightforward, and Lang seems to be quite difficult. The books for 201A seem to be fairly challenging.

After a while, I left to try to scout out the numbers I needed again. I decided to stop by the CCS building to see if Prof. Ryavec was around. I don’t think he was. So I went to South Hall floor 6 and managed to find the enroll codes for my classes but not the instructor numbers. Why do instructors have numbers? Aren’t their names good enough? Perhaps I’ll email Prof. Ryavec to see if he has the numbers for me. Anyway, after finding the enroll codes and classrooms, I went around the buildings to find my classes. Some of the buildings have very strange numbering systems. Apparently $\mathbb{Z}^+$ isn’t good enough for some people. After a while I found them all. Next time I hope I will get slightly less lost in Girvetz Hall. After that little episode, I went back to CCS, but the front door was locked, and I didn’t feel like trying the side door. So I returned to my dorm.

Someone has informed me that the auditions for the orchestra are on Monday and Tuesday. That’s not so good. I am completely unprepared. I must see if I can change that some time in the not-so-distant future.

Also, I need sparkling water for not-so-outrageous prices (i.e. not Perrier or Pelegrino). I haven’t had any since Monday. That’s not so good.

About Simon

Hi. I'm Simon Rubinstein-Salzedo. I'm a mathematics postdoc at Dartmouth College. I'm also a musician; I play piano and cello, and I also sometimes compose music and study musicology. I also like to play chess and write calligraphy. This blog is a catalogue of some of my thoughts. I write them down so that I understand them better. But sometimes other people find them interesting as well, so I happily share them with my small corner of the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment